Brett Favre Retires?

Who knows if he actually retired at this point. We don’t know if Favre is just lathering us up, or if he is being serious, but I think I speak for everyone when I say that I am glad we do not have to hear about him any more (in theory).

Retirement #1. Seems so disingenuous now.

We all know he was a fantastic quarterback, but lately the only thing we have heard about is his summer soap opera. When it is official that he has retired, in other words when he files the paperwork and the Vikings have played their first game, there will be time for retrospection, but for now it is fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice shame on me; fool me three times, your name is Brett Favre.

The immediate impact for the Vikings is hilarious. Less so for the good people of Minnesota, but for football purists like myself. Favre was miles bigger than Brad Childress in that locker room and he was above the law. No one should be above the law in football, and by the looks of it, the VIkings will get what they deserve for treating Brett Favre differently from everyone else. The Vikings will still be solid with that defense and running game, but they are undeniably weaker with Tavaris Jackson at QB. The Packers become the favorites in the division, but life will go on without Brett.

I won’t miss him. There was a time when I would have taken great joy in writing this article about Brett Favre’s retirement and heralding his career as one of the greatest ever. There was a time when everyone loved Brett Favre, but that time is long gone. He went from joyful enthusiasm to unlikable egotist and from idol to prima donna. The game of football is losing a great QB, but the news networks have been relieved of a huge and annoying burden. Once he is officially gone, there will be an acknowledgement of his many accomplishments, but until then, I will act like he never retired because he might change his mind tomorrow.

Just remember, he is not retired until that paperwork is filed and NFL teams can no longer sign him. This announcement means nothing.

One comment

  1. Great article man, really good read for sure. I woke up this morning hoping for something to finally be in the news and lone behold I see the Brett Favre story. Although I am happy to finally see a story, I am sad that I’m not going to be able to watch Brett Favre play again this year. He had such a great year last year, I would have loved to see what he could have done this year. Also, you think you could check out my blog cuz I really wanna hear your opinion http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/08/03/it-is-too-early/

Leave a Reply

